Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League Saskatchewan Junior Hockey League Battlefords North Stars Estevan Bruins Flin Flon Bombers Humboldt Broncos Kindersley Klippers La Ronge Ice Wolves Melfort Mustangs Melville Millionaires Nipawin Hawks Notre Dame Hounds Weyburn Red Wings Yorkton Terriers



The Nipawin Hawks have enjoyed on-ice success in the last 2 years, being only 1 of 2 teams to finish in the top 4 in the SJHL in both years, and have had more league points than all but two teams.  The Hawks have a great culture inside the locker room, and tremendous community support, which has allowed the team to build on team and community pride.

In my tenure as Hawk’s Head Coach/GM, each player that has laced up skates with us has had an offer to play hockey after finishing Junior.  The Hawks have moved 4 players into Div.1 schools, and another 4 playing Div. 3 in the last 2 years, and have had success moving kids on to the next level.  A full listing of commitments over the years is found on this page.

The Hawks are an integral part of the community of Nipawin, and despite our small size, we have the best community support!  The Board of Directors, Staff, and volunteers spend their time, talents, and expertise in all of the promotions and fundraisers that keep this team in solid financial shape.  This promotion and teamwork equates to one of the healthiest teams in the SJHL.

During my twenty years of junior and pro hockey, I have been fortunate to play or coach in front of some amazing crowds, some in excess of 15,000 people, but I have never experienced a louder rink that that of the Cage during playoffs.  The Hawk’s fans are the cream of the crop in junior hockey, and that is evident in the tremendous fan/community support.


Scholarships and Commitments
Year Name School/Team Year Name School/Team
1989 Byron Witkowski Michigan 2006 TJ Sutter Queen's
1990 Rod Miller U-Minn (Duluth) 2006 Charles Burd Queen's
1990 Corey Osmack U-Minn (Duluth) 2006 Josh Belair U-Manitoba
1991 Brian Kapeller St. Lawrence 2006 Kevin Lavallee U-Manitoba
1993 Todd Murphy Colgate 2006 Ryan Cruse U-Regina
1993 Rob Phillips Alaska-Fairbanks 2006 Brady Larock Mount Royal
1994 Trevor Demmans Lake Superior 2007 Rob Holoien Geleen (Dutch Elite League)
1994 Kyle Millar Western Michigan 2007 Steven Leslie Geleen (Dutch Elite League)
1994 Curtis Murphy U-North Dakota 2007 Tyson Hobbins Lake Superior State
1995 Trevor Demmans Lake Superior 2007 Jon Lawrance Queen's
1995 Mark Kane Providence College 2007 Marcus Halcro Queen's
1995 Mike Olaski Ferris State 2007 Dallas Thiessen U-Regina
1995 Tobin Praznik Lake Superior 2007 Cody Purves U-Saskatchewan
1995 Rejean Stringer Merrimack College 2009 Brent Ottmann Wichita Thunder CHL
1996 Cris Classen Merrimack College 2009 Torrie Dyck Augustana
1996 Tyler Palmer Lake Superior 2009 Dean Prpick Augustana
1996 Matt Saper Clarkson U. 2009 Matt Schneider Augustana
1997 Tom Welby Merrimack College 2010 Ryan Kerpan AIC
1998 Dan Carriere Alaska-Fairbanks 2010 Alexandre Leclerc RMC
1998 Robin Carruthers St. Lawrence 2012 Adam Reichert U-Wisconson, River Falls
1998 Greg Classen Merrimack College 2012 Dan Szerlip Concordia University, Wisconson
1998 Robert Delwo Dartmouth 2012 Darius Cole Williston State College
1998 Jamie Garrick Lake Superior 2012 Scott Bollefer Thompson Rivers
1998 Joe Mancuso Northeastern 2013 Davis Jones U-Alaska, Fairbanks
1998 Ian Manzano Clarkson U. 2013 Eli Litchenwald Union
1999 Robert Liscak U-Maine 2013 Tanner Dusyk U-Alaska, Anchorage
1999 Nolan Schaefer Providence College 2013 Jeff Datoff Marian University
2000 Regan Kelly Providence College 2013 Wheaton King SAIT
2000 Shawn Mamane Wayne State 2013 Jesse Williamson Simon Fraser
2001 Jaymon Hill Colgate 2013 Brody Hoffman Calgary Flames - NHL Devel Invite
2001 Derek Alan Providence College 2014 Tad Kozun U Alaska - Anchorage
2001 Thomas Welsh Ohio State 2014 Eric Bollefer Minot State University
2001 Chad Anderson U-Maine 2014 Steven Glass BCIHL
2002 Jean-Guy Gervais Bemidji State
2002 Aaron Ludwig Quinnipeac
2002 David Kellington Lake Superior